5 messaging tips when talking to youth

I remember school dances back in junior high and desperately hoping to be noticed by the cute girls in my class…okay any girl in my class. My methods were pathetic and usually involved rolling my Girbaud jeans too tight, over-applying my older brother’s Drakkar Noir, and attempting the “running man” on the dance floor as the DJ played Bell Biv DeVoe. I was broadcasting myself – open to anyone who was in the market for some Bakker. Had I honed the message I was broadcasting instead of trying too hard to be noticed, I may not have played the wall the entire night – a tough lesson to learn as a 7th-grader.

Some brands still haven’t learned that lesson and sometimes talk to youth in the same way. They try too hard. When creating messaging for a youth audience, your copy needs to be concise and deliberately crafted. When advertising reads like the brand is holding a megaphone, it sounds disingenuous and turns us off. I will admit, my working experience with copywriting doesn’t run too deep, but I have seen a lot of ads targeted to millennials. Here are 5 tips for youth copywriting I wrote for Ypulse readers this month.

Bookmark and Share

About Jason Bakker

Jason Bakker is a native Minnesotan and has been working in the area of youth marketing for nearly a decade. He currently works with Minneapolis based Campus Media Group as the Director of Marketing and is responsible for following trends in the ever-changing landscape of youth culture and media usage, and for consulting advertising agency and national brand professionals on how to develop integrated marketing programs that reach college youth.